SCHEDULE YOUR FREE CASE REVIEW
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

ALL FIELDS REQUIRED*

FREE CONSULT

NO RECOVERY NO FEE

(310) 553-5630
ADVOCATES
for employees

Los Angeles, CA Wage and Hour Laws 2024: A Comprehensive Guide

Posted on October 26, 2023 | Wage & Hour Laws

If you find yourself facing a complicated dispute with your employer over wages and hours or you want to learn more about your rights, a Los Angeles wage and hours attorney can help you. They will do everything in their power to fight for you in a wage or hour conflict, no matter how stressful. Your lawyer can also protect you from employer retaliation or help you with appealing a denied wage claim.

As a worker in LA, it’s important to understand Los Angeles, CA wage and hour laws so that you are able to stand up for your rights in any wage and hour disputes.

What Are Los Angeles’ Laws on Wages?

If you live and work in Los Angeles, you must receive at least all of the following from your employer: 

  • A minimum wage of $15.50 as of January 2024
  • At least 48 hours of paid sick leave every 12 months that you can take after 90 days of employment
  • Getting your schedule at least 14 calendar days in advance
  • Overtime pay of 1.5 times the minimum wage if you are not exempt from overtime pay

In addition to the above requirements, your employer is legally required to retain your working records for four years. This means your employer should have your payroll records and records of your working hours on file. If they do not have these, they can be subject to major penalties. You will need these records to be able to file a claim in the case that your employer is violating your rights.

What Are Los Angeles’ Laws on Hours?

You also have rights related to your working hours if you live and work in Los Angeles. For instance, you are entitled to: 

  • 10-minute rest breaks every four hours
  • A 30-minute meal break every five hours
  • Overtime pay after an eight-hour workday or working 40 hours in one week
  • At least 10 hours of rest between shifts

What Should I Do If My Wage and Hour Laws Are Violated?

If you find yourself facing a wage or an hour dispute, you should consult with an employment attorney about how to take legal action. For instance, common situations you might find yourself in include: 

  • Not getting overtime pay for overtime hours you put in
  • Getting misclassified as exempt when you are non-exempt
  • Being denied meal or rest breaks when you work a full day
  • Receiving a paycheck that bounces
  • Consistently receiving your paychecks late
  • Not receiving your paychecks at all
  • Having your employer make unlawful deductions from your paycheck
  • Facing retaliation like termination for bringing up a problem with your wages or hours

If you are dealing with any of the above situations or a related one, you might feel like there is no hope for your job. You do not have to suffer through this alone. When you consult with an experienced employment lawyer, they will provide a comprehensive explanation of all of the wage and hour laws and how they pertain to your situation.

After closely reviewing your situation, they can craft a strategic legal plan as to how to proceed with your case. Typically, this will start by filing a claim with California’s Department of Industrial Relations.

Q: What Is the Minimum Wage in California?

A: As of January 2024, California labor law mandates the minimum wage for all employees who work in California to be $15.50 an hour. If your employer is paying you less than this amount, you are eligible to file a wage claim with the Labor Commissioner’s Office to pursue the compensation you deserve.

Q: What Is the Salary Threshold To Be Exempt From Overtime in California?

A: As of 2024, if you are to be exempt from overtime pay in California, then you must earn no less than two times the minimum wage. Since the minimum wage is $15.50 per hour, your yearly salary should be no less than $64,480 per year.

Q: Is Overtime After 8 hours or 40 hours in California?

A: If you live in California, you must get paid overtime after eight hours a day or 40 hours a week. For example, let’s say on a Monday you work 10 hours instead of your normal 8. In this case, you should get two hours of overtime pay. This pay must be one and a half times your regular rate of pay if you are an employee who is not exempt from overtime.

Q: How Many Hours Straight Can You Legally Work in California Without a Break?

A: As an employee in California, you are legally required to receive a 10-minute rest break for every four hours that you are working. If you are working more than five hours in a day, you get a 30-minute unpaid meal break. If your employer is pressuring you to work through your unpaid breaks or not granting you the breaks you are entitled to, then you can file an hour claim.

Q: What Is the Minimum Number of Hours for Full Time in California?

A: To be considered a full-time employee, you must work a minimum of 40 hours every week. You want to know whether you are classified as a part-time or a full-time employee because this will determine whether you are eligible to receive benefits such as health insurance, dental insurance, and more.

Are You Looking for a Dedicated Los Angeles Wage Claim Lawyer?

Los Angeles’ rules and regulations about wage hours can be tricky to sort through. Even though it might seem like a headache, you need to get to know what you are entitled to so that you can protect your rights.

If you suspect you have the grounds to file a wage claim in LA, our dependable employment attorneys at Nosrati Law, a Professional Corporation, are eager to assist you. We can provide informed legal counsel tailored to your personal situation and can advise you on how to go about fighting for your rights. Get in touch with us today to find out more information.

Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.